Ann Graybill Cook

Volunteer of Distinction Award

The award is given to a person who has contributed as a volunteer to the Council for Human Services. The range of services could include the development of special projects, special initiatives, many years of service, 
work on multiple committees, or service to the board.

This award, presented at the Rose Cologne Volunteer Dinner, honors the memory of the late Ann Cook. Ann is known to many as the impetus behind the Voluntary Action Center (VAC) with offices in both State College and Philipsburg. Ann’s idea of a Directory of people who wanted to volunteer, connected to agencies and organizations that needed volunteers was unique and very much appreciated by both entities. VAC later became the Volunteer Center and now Centre Helps, which combines the tasks of matching volunteers and needs to many other services in Centre County. 

Past Ann Graybill Cook Volunteer of Distinction Awardees

2021 - Jeannine Lozier

2019 - Sandy Schuckers

2018 - Linda Lovett

2017 - Brenda Oyler Kim

2014 - Ann Walker

2012 - Brent Frank

2011 - Bob Ott

2009 - Dawn Taylor

2008 - Evelyn Wald

2007 - Bobbi Bronstein

2006 - Anna Carol Buffington

2005 - Connie Schulz

2004 - Susan F. Smith

2003 - Norma Keller

2002 - Bunny Moon